Q: At what age did you start playing baseball?

A: I’ve been playing baseball since I could walk, so about 3 or 4 was when I started.

Q: Did you ever play any other sports growing up?

A: Yeah, I played soccer, I played basketball, football, tennis.

Q: What was it about baseball that drew your interest?

A: I’d say I was the best at baseball, I had the most fun playing baseball and I really liked working toward that sport and working toward playing college baseball.

Q: Why not pursue any other sports in high school?

A: I did try a couple of sports. I played football, but I wanted to focus on playing college baseball. I did just committed to a college, which was my goal, so I think it was worth putting all my time into baseball.

Q: How much training do you do per day or week on a yearly basis?

A: Usually we do Monday through Friday.

Q: How does your training differ when you are in-season compared to offseason?

A: In the offseason, I’d say we lift a lot harder to get a lot bigger and stronger. Then in-season, we focus more on baseball fundamentals.

Q: Do you really have downtime away from sports?

A: I like to take time off to let my body recover and have my own time, so I can do stuff for me, but usually I’m playing baseball. I do like to take that month off.

Q: Is it important to have that downtime?

A: Oh yeah, to stay healthy and spend time with my family.

Q: Rating the sports you play versus academics, what’s most important in your life?

A: They are both the same. You have to do well in the classroom and you have to do well on the field. You can’t have one or the other, you have to do both.

Q: In what way are you uniquely gifted?

A: My speed. Nobody has my speed that I know of.

Q: What skills do sports teach you that you apply to life?

A: Playing baseball teaches me perseverance, to be humble and it gives me a work ethic and it also helps me build relationships with many different people.

Q: What goals do you have for your senior year, academically and/or athletically?

A: Academically, just to keep my GPA up. Athletically, to keep producing numbers on that field and bring excitement to the fan and city like I do every year.

Q: What are your personal dreams?

A: Definitely to play in the major leagues one day. After college to pursue that.

Q: What is something you would want to do every day?

A: I would want to practice and grind every day. I’d want to do that every day for sure.

Q: What has been your best high school sports moment?

A: Probably my freshman year when I was on the starting lineup.

Q: You came into high school as an infielder, correct?

A: I did. I told the coach I wanted to play on the varsity as a freshman and I asked what I had to do to be on the team. He said we had an infield full of seniors, but we have one outfield spot, so I had to learn to play the outfield. My hitting helped. I hit .375 my freshman year.

Q: Any coaches, teachers, or family members who have helped you get to this point?

A: Definitely both of my parents have always been supportive and I have really good friends who always support what I do and always work with me since T-ball all the way through high school. My coaches have definitely helped, but my friends and family have been most important.

Q: What advice would you give to the next generation of Conchs?

A: I would say leave it all on the table because once it’s over there ain’t no going back.

Q: What is the best advice you’ve received?

A: I would say from my dad who always tells me not to hold back on anybody or anything. Just give it all you’ve got and if it works and if it doesn’t, then you can still say you gave it all you had.

Q: Having invested so much time — physically, mentally, and emotionally — to your sports, in what way can you have proper closure during your senior year?

A: I can say I’m ready to move on after my senior year because I’ve dedicated countless hours out here and I’ve been a great teammate and have brought a lot of excitement to the program. I definitely still want to come out my senior year and produce those high numbers I have been like hitting .400 and be one of the better guys on defense.

Q: Anywhere in the world you want to visit?

A: I don’t really like to travel. There’s nowhere I am interested in visiting.

Q: Do you have any hobbies outside of sports?

A: I like to go on the boat. I like to dive, spearfish, hang out with friends and work out.

Q: What are some challenges you’ve faced as a student-athlete?

A: Sometimes you get overwhelmed with school work and then having to be out at the field for a while each day and having to put our mind to baseball and not thinking about school work at that time. So, an overload of work.

Q: If you could add one hour to your day, what would you do with it?

A: Probably eat.

Q: You have committed to Polk State. Is that a final decision or can you potentially be swayed to attend a different school?

A: I’m pretty determined to go to Polk [State College]. I visited the school two to three weeks ago and I fell in love with the school. The coach treated me really awesome, the players were really cool and accepted me quickly. I enjoyed the atmosphere and the grind they had, so I’d say as of now that my mindset is that I’m going to Polk.

Q: Is there any one skill you feel you need to improve on to make it at the collegiate level?

A: I’d say that I’m pretty well-rounded as a baseball player, but you are always looking to improve no matter how good you are. I just need to keep getting better and better to be the best version of myself.

Q: What is something you would tell your college roommate about the Keys?

A: I’d tell them the girls are good, we have fun and know how to have a good time and also the water is nice.

Q: On your first trip back home, what will be the meal you ask for?

A: I’d want to have a big steak with some black beans and rice.

Q: Outside of baseball, do you have any career aspirations?

A: I like to do physical stuff and my dad runs his own pool business. I don’t really have anything specific, but I like to work so I know I’ll figure something out. I’ll probably get a degree in business, I also like fitness, so maybe something like a physical trainer or something in that area.

Recommended for you